Understanding the DUI Laws in Maine
Driving underneath the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs is just a serious crime that carries stiff penalties in Maine. If you’re convicted of a DUI, you might be facing jail time, hefty fines, and the suspension of your driver’s license. Understanding the state’s maine dui laws will help ensure that you stay safe on the roads and avoid any legal trouble. Listed here is an overview of the thing you need to learn about criminal defense attorney maine.
Maine’s Legal Drinking Limit
In Maine, it’s illegal for drivers 21 years old and over to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08% or higher. For drivers under 21 years of age, the legal drinking limit is a lot lower—just .02%. Drivers which can be found operating an automobile with either of these BAC levels will soon be faced with Driving Underneath the Influence (DUI). Additionally, all drivers must submit to chemical tests if requested by police force officers after being arrested for suspected drunk driving. Refusal to submit to such tests can result in additional penalties and fines.
Consequences for DUIs
The consequences for DUIs rely on if it’s your first offense. For first-time offenders, they could face as much as 364 days in jail and fines which range from $500-$2,000. Furthermore, their driver’s license will also be suspended for up to 90 days. For second-time offenders within 10 years of these first offense, they are able to face 5 years in prison and fines between $1,000-$4,000 along with having their license suspended for up to 2 years. As it pertains to third-time offenders within 10 years of the previous convictions, they could face 10 years in prison with fines ranging from $2,000-$5,000 whilst having their license suspended for 6 years.
Implied Consent Law
Under Maine’s implied consent law drivers are required by law to submit to chemical tests when asked by police force officers following an arrest made on suspicion of drunk driving. Refusal to take such tests can lead to additional penalties including increased punishment if convicted as well as suspension of one’s driver’s license for up to 3 years even though he or she was found not guilty at trial as a result of not enough evidence obtained from chemical testing results.Furthermore, refusal may also be used against someone during trial if she or he refuses before being given Miranda warnings and again after being informed by law enforcement officers about the implied consent law.
Understanding the DUI laws in Maine is important so that you can stay safe on the roads and avoid any legal trouble in case you ever find yourself behind the wheel after consuming alcohol or drugs. The legal BAC limit is .08% or maybe more for those 21 and over while it drops down significantly just .02% for folks who are younger than 21. Additionally, refusing chemical tests can lead to additional penalties even though one isn’t guilty as a result of not enough evidence obtained through testing results which supports explain why one must comply with such requests when asked by law enforcement officers following an arrest made under suspicion of drunk driving in accordance with implied consent laws in this state. When it comes time getting behind the wheel remember not only could it be illegal but it might run you dearly too!